Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Chargers’ Maple Adds 2nd-Team All-Arrowhead to List of Honors

Chargers logo

March 7, 2017
GALESBURG — A week after earning second-team All-Region IV honors, Carl Sandburg College men’s basketball sophomore Shane Maple (Peoria, Ill./Peoria) has been named to the All-Arrowhead Conference second team.

A 6-foot-2 guard, Maple led the Chargers in scoring (16.5 points per game) and assists (3.8 per game) in Arrowhead play. Maple also averaged 4.5 rebounds and 1.3 steals in conference contests while shooting 48 percent from the floor, 47 percent from 3-point range and 86 percent from the free-throw line.

Maple scored in double-digits in eight of the Chargers’ 10 league games, reaching the 20-point plateau twice. He had 19 points, seven rebounds and a career-best nine assists in Sandburg’s regular season finale at Kishwaukee.

Maple and the Chargers will play for the Region IV District 3 tournament championship when they face sixth-ranked South Suburban at 5 p.m. Saturday on the campus of Waubonsee Community College.


2016-2017 All-Arrowhead Conference Men’s Basketball
First Team — D’Angelo Jackson (MVP, Highland), Corielle Robinson (Black Hawk), Karson Arrenholz (Sauk Valley), Deang Deang (Highland), Bryson Butler (Kishwaukee).
Second Team — Sean Chisolm (Sauk Valley), Shane Maple (Sandburg), Rickey Calvin (Illinois Valley), Keymonta Johnson (Illinois Valley), Malcolm Reed (Kishwaukee).
Coach of the Year — Tone Boyle (Highland).