Skip to main content

Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect.

Hamilton Takes Home Individual, Team Titles at WYSE Academic Challenge Regional in Carthage

Sandburg 50th logo

Feb. 10, 2017
CARTHAGE — Hamilton High School claimed the individual and team titles at the 36th annual Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering (WYSE) Academic Challenge regional competition Tuesday at Carl Sandburg College’s Branch Campus in Carthage.

Students from Hamilton, Illini West, Warsaw, West Central and West Prairie high schools were tested in biology, chemistry, computer science, engineering graphics, English, mathematics and physics. The top three finishers in each category received awards, and the top two from each category advance to compete in the WYSE sectional competition March 14 at Knox College.

Hamilton’s Clara Wilhelm placed first in math and English to be named the individual champion. It’s the third year in a row and fourth time in the last five years a Hamilton student has won the individual title.

Hamilton also won the team championship after finishing runner-up each of the previous three years. Warsaw placed second, and Illini West, which had won the last two years, finished third.

The WYSE Academic Challenge is offered by more than 50 community colleges and universities in Illinois and Missouri. Material for the multiple-choice tests is drawn from senior high school and freshman level college curricula.

The top three finishers in each subject were as follows:

1. Tevin Thompson (West Prairie)
2. Will Fox (Hamilton)
3. Courtney Williams (Illini West)
Honorable mention — James Boyor (Hamilton)

1. Kevin Oliver (Illini West)
2. Hannah McIntire (West Central)
3. Bailey Hollis (Hamilton)
Honorable mention — Shelby DeMint (Warsaw)

1. Jeanna Joseph (Warsaw)
2. Chase Grainger (Illini West)
3. Will Mencel (West Prairie)

1. Sarah Cluff (Warsaw)
2. Benjamin Hanks (Illini West)
3. Sierra Cheney (Illini West)
Honorable mention — Kailee Pfeiferling (Hamilton), Trevor Sandridge (Warsaw)

1. Clara Wilhelm (Hamilton)
2. Shelby DeMint (Wasaw)
3. Sarah Cluff (Warsaw)

1. Clara Wilhelm (Hamilton)
2. Bailey Hollis (Hamilton)
3. Abbey Hamma (Warsaw)
Honorable mention — Katherine Proste (West Central), Hannah Davison (West Prairie) and Sophie Smith (Illini West)

1. Justin Roskamp (Warsaw)
2. Louis Hughes (Warsaw)
3. Maddie Kieffer (West Prairie)

1. Hamilton
2. Warsaw
3. Illini West